Every few months Facebook users are subject to new privacy rules which may lead to less privacy. Unless you take the time to update your profile settings, any person can look up your Facebook account by name or email, view items that are posted and details on your profile and send you messages or friend requests. Many users today are interested in hiding their profile from strangers on the internet that may be able to access personal information. There are a few simple steps to follow to do this.
- Log into your Facebook account with your username and password. Be sure that you are on the ?home? page. Locate the down arrow in the top right corner which is located next to your name and ?home?.
- Click on the down arrow and the select Privacy Settings. The privacy settings are more difficult to navigate and control than they were in the past which is one of the reasons why it is necessary for new Facebook users to browse through the settings and make appropriate adjustments.
- Set your default privacy. The first box you come to will give you the option to set your default privacy level. There are three options ? public, friends or custom. If you select public this means that all posts you write and pictures that are uploaded will be visible to all Facebook users, regardless of who they are. If you select friends this will allow your posts and pictures to be visible to just your friends. A pop-up box will appear and allow you to select all of your friends or groups of your friends as well as the option to block specific friends from seeing your posts. You can enter their names and a dropdown menu will appear with the option to select those persons to be added to your blocked post list. The final option is to choose custom settings which allow you to make your Facebook posts and pictures visible to just yourself, certain groups of friends and to set restrictions for certain users. This setting only controls the visibility of your posts, images and information on your Facebook Account.
- Edit your ?how you connect? settings. Click ?Edit Settings? next to ?How You Connect? and a popup box will appear. In this box you can set specific settings for each of the questions present. This will allow you to set the privacy settings for who can look up your Facebook timeline by name, email address or phone number, who can send you messages and you can send you friend requests.
- Edit your ?Timeline and Tagging? settings. In this section you will be able to change who can post on your profile wall, you can see posts from others, who can see posts you are tagged in, who can tag you and if you need to approve tags from other people. If you change all of these settings to only you or only friends, it will allow you to keep your profile private from outsiders.