There may come a time when you feel the need to deactivate your Facebook account. Maybe it is because you are not using it as much as you used to or maybe it’s because you are tired of how much time you spend on it for no real reason. Or maybe you want to just disappear for a while, whatever the reason may be, this tip will guide you on how to deactivate your facebook account. Deactivating a Facebook profile is only temporary. If you are looking to completely delete your Facebook account, please see our tip on How To Delete Your Facebook Permanently. Again, this tip is only how to deactivate your Facebook profile, as a temporary basis until you are ready to return to it, not to delete it permanently.
Start by logging into your Facebook account the same way that you always do, using either your email address or phone number and your password. When it brings you to your personalized home page, go to the little HOME icon and click on ‘Account Settings’. Note you will see different options for things to do to your account ie. privacy, etc. From the Account Settings tab, click on the left sidebar for ‘Security’ – it should be the second option on the list. Once you click this Security option, you will be directed to a screen which controls your email address, login information, password and notifications. At the bottom of the list you will see ‘Deactivate your account’.
When you click on ‘Deactivate your account’ a new page will appear that showcases some of your Facebook friends at the top saying ?Your Xnumber friends will no longer be able to keep in touch with you. ? There will be a series of reasons to choose from as to why you are deactivating your Facebook account; you will need to select one of the reasons. Whether it is the real reason or not, just put one in so that you can continue on with deactivating your Facebook account. Once you put a reason in, a box will appear that says ‘opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook’. Click yes, and your Facebook account has been deactivated.
Note: If you are the sole administrator for certain Facebook pages, after the reason box, another box will appear for those pages that you are the sole admin of. If you deactivate your Facebook account, those pages will cease to exist. If you want to keep those pages active even while your personal Facebook profile is deactivated, then it is necessary to add new adminstrators to those pages. For this you will notice an ‘edit admins’ option next to each page title. And same as above, after this you will get the message that says ‘opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook’. Choose yes and your Facebook account has been deactivated.
Once your account has been deactivated it will cease to appear on Facebook. Friends will not be able to search for you or access any information about you, or that was on your account when it was live profile. Don’t be confused, deactivating your account does not delete your account permanently. If you decide that you need to get back on Facebook and have a profile like everybody else to hear the latest gossip, please see our tip on How To Reactivate Your Facebook account. Good Luck & Enjoy 🙂